NO, I <3 You

Image

Doesn’t it suck when someone tells you, “No?” “No, you can’t do that!” Think about when you were a kid, or if you have your own kids, when a parent says no to their child isn’t it because they love their child and are looking out for them? When someone tells me “no,” I immediately get defensive. Sometimes hearing “no” turns people away from certain things. For me, it was religion. “No” had me turning away from God and all of the rules that came along with Him. My ED had me turning away from God because How could a God that claims He loves me put me through this terrible situation?

Image

Thou shalt not do this, or that, or anything FUN. Yada, yada, yada. Yeah, no thank you to all that crap. I’m partttttyin hard boiiiii!!! < I definitely used to think like that. Don’t get me wrong, I still like to have a good time…and sure I believed in God, but I thought all the hypocritical rules were dumb. That is, until I truly felt the love and grace of God.

Image

I hope you know I never try to judge or force my personal ideas on another…I just want to share. I can only talk about what has been changed in my life and share what comes out of thankfulness for the One who has helped me in so many ways. God isn’t about NO, He is about love. He is about faith and hope.

Image

God is just like a parent, who simply wants the best for us because He loves us more than we could ever imagine. Once you can understand that, everything else takes new light, one you want to be a part of. I still like to have fun. I still like to “do hood rat things wif my frans.” Tom I really hope you are reading and that made you laugh. I’m still a work in progress. I’m not perfect, not even close, but knowing that God loves me wholeheartedly anyways keeps me trusting in, relying on, and cleaving to Him. His love draws me in.

Image

You just can’t separate God and love. God is love. I need to remember that God has a plan for me and a “no” is strictly because He loves me and has a better plan for me.  I try to remind myself of Jeremiah 29:11-13…”For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.“

Image

All God wants is to have a relationship with us. He knows we’re going to screw up…and that’s okay, because once you accept God into your life He will forgive you of your sins and wipe that slate clean.

Leave a Reply

